The good, the bad, the ugly.

I just realized how long it has been since my last post, I’m sure my 3? 4? followers are disappointed! 🙂
This is what I’ve realized.. When I said the holidays were a challenging time, I meant winter… Something about the cold weather makes you want to sit back with some wine or in my case a vodka soda. Maybe it’s that we are all opening our credit card bills from the holiday spending? I would like to toss those in the fireplace with Fifty Shades of Gray. That makes one happy image.

The Good:
I made a frittata and it was awesome!! I saw a recipe I kinda liked, but I wanted to change the veggies, mainly because that’s all I had. Super easy!

20140221-124355.jpg

Here is how I did it:

1 sweet potato
1 head of broccoli
10 bacon slices
1/3 c mushrooms (approx.) I used baby bellas
8 eggs
Salt and pepper for taste

Preheat oven to 375. If you have an old oven like me 400 is ok.
First, I started cooking my bacon in a pan. While my bacon was cooking I diced up my sweet potato into little squares. You don’t want big chunks or they might not cook completely.
Put your bacon off to the side once it’s done and leave a little bit of the grease, enough to cover the bottom.
Next, throw those mushrooms in the grease and sautée them for a few minutes. I then threw in my broccoli and sweet potato in for a few.
While this is happening, cut your bacon up into little pieces and toss it back in. Pour your eggs over the top, salt and pepper to your heart’s desire, and let it cook for a few minutes so the bottom gets firm.
Slide pan into preheated oven and cook for about 20-25 minutes. You want the eggs to be firm, but have a little push back to them.

This recipe was so easy and so tasty, I think I’ll mix it up next time with some spicy sausage and try a Mexican type frittata.

The bad and the ugly:
I think my downfall is not being prepared. I had no lunch made a couple days last week and I found myself at Marv’s deli with a friend. Amazing place! But one BLT and gourmet donut later… Ugh… Look at this donut..

20140222-144639.jpg

Next week is a new week! Being prepared is the key and a cheat day here and there never hurt anyone!!

Leave a Reply

